Loving our Community

Over the last several weeks, Bright and I have gotten to participate in several events to raise awareness of or benefit CCI, and we’ve just loved it. To give you a little idea of what we’ve been up to, here are some photos of the events!

March 26, we visited 5th graders at a school in Saratoga.

The school had a full day of special programming in the form of a Health and Science Fair. Presenters came from many different kinds of organizations and institutions. CCI was asked to be there in order to represent a very unique cross-section of health and science, where assistive technology meets the animal kingdom.

After our presentation, the kids got to meet Bright and PIP Luci.

After our presentation, the kids got to meet Bright and PIP Luci.

On April 27, we headed out to a family camp near Half Moon Bay.

Families came to spend quality time together, outdoors and away from the grind of life in the city. The educational theme of the weekend was Partnerships, so Bright and I partnered up with another team, Hearing Dog Claribel and her human partner, and we talked about our partnerships with our dogs, with CCI, and with the community. There were about 120 people there, and of course they loved Bright.

The families sat in a big circle in the dining room and we presented from the middle. I was a little dizzy by the time we were done. :)

The families sat in a big circle in the dining room and we presented from the middle. I was a little dizzy by the time we were done. 🙂

On May 3, we headed out to Carmel Retriever Days.

Some businesses in the town of Carmel hosted and sponsored an entire day’s worth of events to benefit CCI, including a parade, a cocktail party, and a scavenger hunt. Bright, Bryan and I arrived early to do a short demo for the early birds, then played at the beach. We met lots of people and dogs, some associated with CCI, some not, and others who will be after seeing our dogs in action. I was in heaven, surrounded by my favorite species on the planet for the whole day.

You can't see it, but I'm holding a tiny microphone.

You can’t see it, but I’m holding a tiny microphone.

Parade dog, dressed up for May the Fourth. If you don't know the Star Wars reference, I can't help you. I barely know it myself.

Parade dog, dressed up for May the Fourth. If you don’t know the Star Wars reference, I can’t help you. I barely know it myself.

Bryan and Bright, starting to mellow out after some crazy running on the beach.

Bryan and Bright, starting to mellow out after some crazy running on the beach. Can you see how excited and tense Bright still looks? “Don’t make me stop. Not ready to stop. Please, please don’t make me stop.”

Hearing Dog Claribel and Bright, and making a guest appearance, my green shoe.

Hearing Dog Claribel and Bright, and making a guest appearance, my green shoe.

CCI is such a great community, and we love being part of it. Almost anywhere in the country, there are ways to get involved. If you’re curious about opportunities, check out CCI’s site or ask me here, and I’ll direct you to the right place.

If you know of a group that would like a presentation, let me know, and again, I’ll get you in contact with the right person.

2 thoughts on “Loving our Community

    • Natalie – Shortly after having met you, I put together that you’re Still I Can’t Be Silent, and I remembered that you’d commented on HOFL before. It was really great to meet you, and I hope we see each other again!

What do you think?

