A World of Distractions

“Can I pet your dog?” It’s the million dollar question.

I’ll tell you what: if you’re uncomfortable talking to strangers, don’t get a Service Dog. I’m asked constantly if it’s ok to pet, and in between the requests, many people do it without asking at all.

Unfortunately, this is not a question with a consistent answer, so really, all you can do is ask.

Sometimes it’s ok, and sometimes it’s not.

Some handlers have a “no petting, period” policy. Some have given up on ever saying no. Still others of us give a different answer every time we’re asked, based on the situation.

What’s really important, though, is that when you walk away, you understand why the answer was yes, or why it was no.

When I’m working at my retail job, customers ask to pet Bright a lot. Usually, she’s laying quietly at my side, sometimes under a table and always out of the way. And usually, I say, “Thank you for asking, but since she’s working right now, I’d appreciate it if you didn’t. It’s really important to not distract her while she’s working.” You’d be surprised at how often I hear, “Doesn’t look like it. She’s just laying there.” Sometimes, they proceed to make kissy noises and all kinds of attempts at getting her attention. Those things are also distracting!

In addition to that, many working dogs do things for their partners that you can’t see. Some are trained to detect the onset of a seizure, some help sniff out otherwise deadly allergens, and others can sense a drop or rise in blood sugar! A small distraction could mean serious health implications for the human partnered with that dog.

Check this story out, if you are wondering how valuable that kind of service can be!

She’s just laying there!

When I say my dog is working, that doesn’t necessarily mean she’s doing an active command; it just means she’s under the my control and has to have her attention focused primarily on me so that when she’s asked to perform, she’s ready for it.

It’s hard for dogs to focus on one thing for very long. Really hard. (Unless that thing can be eaten or chased.) It’s not Bright’s fault if I let someone distract her or if someone pets her without asking first, but if she fails to carry out her job, I still have to enforce the rules. Since she doesn’t speak English, I can’t explain that she gets a pass because someone else goofed up. That makes consistency really important.

CCI has a great article on what’s appropriate and what’s not.

So, what do I consider when someone asks if it’s ok to pet Bright?

I actually have a little mental checklist:

  • Is Bright under control? Do I currently have her attention, or is she eyeing the pretzel just inches from her nose? If she senses the opportunity to grab it, she just might do that, so she needs to know I’m in charge.
  • What’s the environment like? Is this a quiet setting, where the you’re the only person likely to start petting, or are we in a packed shopping mall where, chances are, we’re going to attract a crowd?
  • Who’s asking? Is it a server at a restaurant? (That one is almost always a “no.” Sometimes, other customers think that’s really gross.) Is it a small child, or a whole gaggle of them, or is it a parent trying to seize a teaching moment?
  • What kind of day has Bright had? Stressful, with lots of new experiences? Is she currently showing any signs of stress (sweaty paws, panting, ears back, cowering)?

Being the human partner of a Service Dog is an incredibly active role; I have to be aware of several things at once, and in the split second that someone asks to pet, I have to decide what’s best for me and Bright. Hopefully, this article leaves you with a better understanding of my role in my dog’s success, and also why I might respond to the question the way I do!

Questions? Have you ever had an experience with a Service Dog in public? Share them here!

9 thoughts on “A World of Distractions

  1. I love this. I am lucky enough to have had the honor of petting Bright and kissing her. I will be the first one to tell you to leave her alone if you try to pet her while she’s working. If a dog is working, I think it would behoove the rest of us not to cross a boundary. Would you go up to a cashier in a grocery store and start hugging them? Your mechanic? Etc.? Let working dogs work.

  2. I have a special appreciation for service dogs since I know a family of puppy raisers for CCI. But I also have recently been following Luis Carlos Montalban, the Army Captain who has Tuesday, the Golden who saved his life. I am linking this to him, as I am sure he is bombarded with requests. Tuesday wears a vest/harness that says “Do NOT pet. Service dog.” Captain Montalban is tall with only a slight limp, which he supports with a cane. Many people didn’t even think Tuesday was a service dog. But Tuesday is working by sensing changes in Luis, and distractions from that task are unfair to both of them and can be dangerous. Bright and Tuesday are so beautiful, and so well behaved that it seems logical to pet them. I wish I could wisk away the constant requests with a wand, to make your excursions from home easier. God bless Bright for her training and temperament and devotion to you (and when permitted her gentle compliance to the petting of strangers) Sometimes you wonder if the dogs roll their eyes (ugh, AGAIN?!) Thank you for getting the word out in such a logical, lovely way. ((Hugs to you both))

    • Thanks so much for the feedback! This kind of comment is helpful to me because it confirms that I wasn’t too harsh in my explanations! It’s easy to get carried away on a rant, so I tried hard to keep it positive. Service Dogs and their partners need lots of friends like you to help them spread the word, so keep it up!

  3. Great post! I am about to start blogging about life with my SD too, I am hoping that it will give me a chance to voice these same kinds of things! People often react very negatively when I ask them not to pet, and it’s nice to know that I am not the only one who basis the answer on each individual situation! So glad that you know exactly how to deal with people, thank you for sharing!

    • It’s taken a lot of years for me to get confident in the way I explain this topic to strangers…writing definitely helps me organize my thoughts and be prepared better when people ask. I know that with a hidden disability like diabetes, it can be even harder because people don’t see a need for you to have a dog like they do for me. Good luck with your blog, and please reach out if you ever have questions!

What do you think?

