Back on the trail.

Hi, Friends. It’s been awhile!

The last time I posted here (in January–eek!), I was introducing the creative project I’m working on, Sidekicks. I gave myself permission to take some time off from HOFL because I needed to focus on getting that off the ground, and here I am, four months later, realizing how much time I’ve allowed to pass. I’ve found out how loyal an audience I have, though, through readers reaching out to ask when to expect something new!

So, I’ll ease back in with a little update on our last few months.

In January, I started a new job and Melanie and I started working on Sidekicks, which is a photo and narrative project (blog launching soon) meant to inspire people to think beyond the surface about the importance of the working relationship between service dogs and their handlers. We’ve taken lifestyle and portrait photos of four pairs, and we’ve got some in the pipeline, but we’re looking for more teams to photograph in the bay area. More on that in another post.

In late February, Bryan, Bright, and I packed everything we own and moved (again). I have reason to believe that Bright likes it very much here in our new house. No, we didn’t buy it. We won’t be able to afford a house in the South Bay until we’re 43.

Bright has her own backyard, complete with a potty spot, so she doesn't have to muck up the grass.

Bright has her own backyard, complete with a potty spot, so she doesn’t have to muck up the grass.

In March, we did two Sidekicks photo shoots and I had houseguests for 16 days straight.

First, my dad.

Doug & his industrial strength margarita.

Doug & his industrial strength margarita.

Then, Bryan’s dad, who overlapped with my dad.

Those two are just two peas.

Those two are just two peas.

And then Lee, my best friend from before I was old enough to drive.

He'll move to California someday, I can tell.

He’ll move to California someday, I can tell.

There was a whole lot of testosterone flying around, with all of those men visiting. I’m still airing the place out.

April was pretty crazy, too, between more visitors, a trip up to Santa Rosa for my mom’s interview for a dog with Canine Companions, a Sidekicks photo shoot up in Oakland, Bryan being hit by a car on his bike (he’s ok now), and our plumbing going on strike.

So there you have all of my excuses for being absent. And now, back to your regularly scheduled program.

2 thoughts on “Back on the trail.

  1. I thought perhaps I had been bumped off your list. I can certainly see why you took a break. Welcome back. We’ve missed you.

What do you think?

